Whimsify Box – April 2017: More Than Machine

Whimsify Box is a monthly subscription book box for YA lovers. You receive a recently published fantasy or sci-fi book along with 4-6 items that relate to the theme picked to match the book.

20170430_113229

Whimsify Box
Cost: $34.95 USD
Shipping Costs: $7.25 within the US |  Internationally – $19.95
Payment Method: Credit Card
Mailed Out: 15 – 20th each month

Good to know: your subscription renews automatically on the 1st of each month

20170430_113352

First look inside the box reveals the product card with the theme for April – ‘More Than Machine‘.

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

20170430_113458

The card outlines everything in the box along with the shop they’re from and also explains how they relate to the theme for those who aren’t familiar with the source material.

20170430_113520

Merciful (The Illuminae Files) candle by Novelly Yours ($15.43 AUD).

20170430_113557

My nose always has a hard time distinguishing the scents that these candles are MEANT to represent (ice, fire, cotton, leather? um, not really?), but this one smells delightful nonetheless.

I wondered at the appearance of the candle because those splotches look almost diseased, lol, but if you click on the link to the candle in-store, it turns out the red splotches are meant to resemble blood droplets and they’ve simply run a little during shipping. Now it makes more sense! As in – a merciful death? 😉

20170430_113642

The next two items came packaged together in a black gift bag.

20170430_113816

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles) lipbalm by Kool & Co ($3 AUD?). This has a very faint mandarin smell that I can barely detect, but oh well, lip-balm always comes in handy as my lips are perpetually dry from the medication I’m on.

TARDIS lip-balm holder by Ellayna Boutique ($8.41 AUD). This is such a cute concept! I’ve never seen this in a box before, so it’s a very creative idea!

However, I prefer to just throw my lip-balm into my bag and fish around for it – I think it might be harder to extract it from the TARDIS. I’ll have to try clipping it to my bag and seeing if I’m able to easily remove it or not.

Iko (Lunar Chronicles) magnetic bookmark by Kaelis Paperie (between $2 – $5 AUD). I looove magnetic bookmarks and Iko is super cute! It’s a little different that when you look at the back, you actually see the character from behind – the few magnetic bookmarks I’ve received simply have teh same character design on both sides, so this is neat. 🙂 It’s more helpful when trying to work out which page you were on instead of checking both sides!

20170430_114109

I do like the packaging of items here, it makes it really exciting to unbox when there’s some mystery preserved even after opening the lid!

20170430_114157

BB-8 bath bomb by Wizard At Work (around $5 AUD).

20170430_114242

BB-8 was a fan favorite in the new Star Wars movie and this representation in bath product form is so adorable, plus it smells AMAZING! I love getting bath bombs in boxes, the scent always packs a punch – I usually don’t pop them in the bath tub straight away, I like to leave them on the counter or coffee table to make my home smell lovely. 😀

20170430_115953

Defy The Stars themed bookmark by Little Inklings Design ($3.08 AUD): my camera doesn’t do this bookmark justice, the colors are so gorgeously vivid and intense, it’s one of the more stunning bookmarks I’ve received.

 

20170430_114359

The packaging on my book was a little ripped and unfortunately left my book damaged as well, boo. 😦 I’ve bought so many book boxes and this is the first time the book jacket has been torn!

20170430_114425

Defy The Stars by Claudia Gray ($23.90 AUD):

She’s a soldier.

Noemi Vidal is seventeen years old and sworn to protect her planet, Genesis. She’s willing to risk anything—including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she’s a rebel.

He’s a machine.

Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel has advanced programming that’s begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he’s an abomination.

Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they’re not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they’re forced to question everything they’d been taught was true.

20170430_114446

This book sounds pretty cool! I figured it out from the hints and liked it enough to buy the box themed around it, so I hope it lives up to expectations. ^_^ I’m a fan of AI characters and usually in movies, that ends up going horribly wrong, lol, so it’ll be interesting to read a YA romance for a change!

20170430_115813

VERDICT

Quality of Curation: Pretty good! It’s really handy how the product card explains the connections to the theme because I’m not familiar with The Illuminae Files and the candle name didn’t really scream ‘AI’, so it’s good to have some clarity. They were quite clever in extending the ‘AI’ inspiration to ‘More Than Machine’, which allowed for BB-8 and the TARDIS who aren’t really AIs to be included.

While I personally am not quite convinced by the lip-balm holder just yet, I do need to commend Whimsify Box for putting in something quite different to most boxes! When every other box is putting in pins and teas and notebooks ad nauseum, it’s great when I can be genuinely surprised by an item.

Worth It? This cost me $66.76 AUD and the value comes to about $63 AUD. I’ve had a bit of bad luck in 2017 as this is the second box that has cost me more than it’s worth, so that’s a bummer. There were several small neat items, but no real ‘hero’ item which is usually included in book boxes (like a Funko pop or apparel), hence why the value fell short of what I paid.

Personal Rating: 3 out of 5 kitties approve this box.

3cats

Find Out More: You can find Whimsify Box on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Disclaimer: I purchased this box, and this review is based on my personal opinion. No compensation was received

2 thoughts on “Whimsify Box – April 2017: More Than Machine

    • I knoooow, I was so crushed – it’s never happened before, and so weird that it did here when the book was wrapped and there were those packaging squiggles (is there a technical term for that, lol). The items were a bit of a letdown after that, so eh. I forgot to unsubscribe, so I’ll be getting the May box, hope that’s more to my liking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

