Book Boyfriend Box – February 2017: Out Of This World

Book Boyfriend Box is a bi-monthly US book subscription box that provides you with a new YA release plus 2-6 bookish goodies that may include jewelry, make-up, bath products, candles, accessories & apparel and more.

20170422_113928.jpg

Book Boyfriend Box
Cost: $29.99 USD (discounts available on longer subscriptions)
Shipping Costs: USPS Priority Rate | Canada – $14.99 | Internationally – $25.99
Payment Method: Credit Card
Mailed Out: 9-15th February, April, June, August, October & December

***Note: this is a bi-monthly box that ships every 2 months. Renewals happen on the 25th of the month prior to shipping. Subscribe by the 10th of the shipping month to receive that month’s box, otherwise if you subscribe after that date, you’ll receive the box for the next cycle***

20170306_081839 - Copy

My box was shipped on February 8th and arrived the following week on the 15th.

20170306_082022.jpg

First look inside. I like the colorful blue squiggles! This box was quite big and heavy, which was very exciting/ 🙂

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

20170422_111550

The style of the info card changes each month to match the theme, which is rather quirky. Since the theme for this box is ‘Out of This World’, the card is formatted like an interstellar transmission. It’s a cute gimmick, but there were a few typos, which I can’t help but nitpick…

20170422_111601

The reverse of the card has a nice star chart print – I’ve put this on my fridge now with the help of some magnets. And speaking of…

20170422_111929

Lunar Chronicles magnetic bookmarks by Paperly and Co (approx $10 AUD judging by similar items).

MAGNETIC BOOKMARKS. \o/ I have always been envious of subscribers who receive these items in their boxes because they’re so cool and now I’ve gotten them at last!

20170422_111954

The roguish blond on the left is Captain Thorne and the dashing fellow on the right is Prince Kai. These are just too cute, and they were exclusively made for this box as well! Subscribers may have received either this set or the second set with two of the other leading men of the series, Jacin and Wolf – I like when boxes have variations because even if you see spoilers, you don’t know what exactly you’re going to get!

20170422_112057 - Copy

Out Of Print socks ($10 USD): there were two variations – I received Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and the alternative was Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? I rather like the latter, because I’m a sucker for anything with cute fuzzy animals, but I’m happy with mine!

20170422_111752

Fizzy Fairy Apothecary bath bomb ($7.55 AUD): YAAAS, I love bath bombs! They’re a luxury I don’t like to spend money on myself, but it’s great getting them in boxes. 😀

20170422_111620

There’s a rather sweet backstory to the bath bomb, which is a first for me – I’ve received numerous bath bombs and bath salts, but none with a touching story like this. It’s neat to know that the proceeds for the bath bombs in all our boxes will go to charity.

20170422_112149

The Ascenders by C L Gaber ($25.27 AUD): this is a double-book box, woohoo! The first is one I’ve never heard of, this hasn’t got a lot of buzz in the YA circles I frequent, but sounds intriguing!

20170422_112206.jpg

Sucks that these characters die, but are still stuck at school, that’s a bit rough! I’m curious to know where this will go… Loving the moody artwork that extends from the front cover across the back as well!

20170422_112230

Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth ($23.83 AUD): the main book is definitely one I’ve heard of, it’s rather notorious in YA, lol. I’m aware there are problematic aspects including racism and ableism, so this isn’t high on my TBR pile, but leaving all that aside, this is a stunningly beautiful cover and it will at least look good on my bookshelf.

20170422_112242

In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?

Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.

20170422_112306

It also has one of the best designed nude covers – none of the books I’ve seen before have gone to this much effort and creativity under the jacket, I love the intricate design here!

20170422_112121

There’s also a short story, Disengagement, which won the contest hosted by Book Boyfriend Box.

20170422_112133.jpg

I’m not terribly interested in short stories myself, but this would be really cool for the winner to have this attention and validation, so I’m happy for Alexandra!

20170422_114558.jpg

VERDICT

Quality of Curation: Pretty good overall – I didn’t understand the inclusion of ‘Ascenders’ at first as it seems to be set on Earth, but the info card linked it to the theme by describing it as what happens once we die, ie. ‘depart from this world’. The thematic relevance of everything else in the box is easily identified – Carve The MarkHitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and the Lunar Chronicles all feature an intergalactic setting, and while the moon is closer to Earth, it’s still beyond our planet!

With regards to the items themselves, I’m totally on board. 🙂 I love when there’s an extra book included in a box! Plus I adore bath bombs and magnetic bookmarks, and I have never appreciated socks so much in my life, lmao. I used to hate getting socks as a child and now I shake my head at my youthful ignorance. Geeky socks are the best! ❤

Worth It? I spent $72.10 AUD and the value was about $80 AUD, so that’s excellent!

Personal Rating: 5 out of 5 kitties approve this box!

4cats

Find Out More: You can find Book Boyfriend Box on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Disclaimer: I purchased this box, and this review is based on my personal opinion. No compensation was received.

5 thoughts on “Book Boyfriend Box – February 2017: Out Of This World

    • Yes, I had noticed that – it actually drew my attention to the book as I have a history of self-harm. I haven’t read this yet, but from what I gather in reviews on it, there’s self-mutilation as part of a cultural tradition, so it’s not quite what I thought based on that cover and the title. Oh well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

