Book Boyfriend Box – April 2017: Beauty & The Beast

Book Boyfriend Box is a bi-monthly US book subscription box that provides you with a new YA release plus 2-6 bookish goodies that may include jewelry, make-up, bath products, candles, accessories & apparel and more.

all

Book Boyfriend Box
Cost: $29.99 USD (discounts available on longer subscriptions)
Shipping Costs: USPS Priority Rate | Canada – $14.99 | Internationally – $25.99
Payment Method: Credit Card
Mailed Out: 9-15th February, April, June, August, October & December

***Note: this is a bi-monthly box that ships every 2 months. Renewals happen on the 25th of the month prior to shipping. Subscribe by the 10th of the shipping month to receive that month’s box, otherwise if you subscribe after that date, you’ll receive the box for the next cycle***

1

I really like that many of the US boxes have tracking provided automatically – after having my purchase go missing with a UK box that required you to pay extra for tracking, I’m sticking with US boxes from now on.

1a

My box was shipped on April 10th and arrived the following week on the 20th. (there was a delay due to the Easter holidays – my previous box arrived within a week)

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

1b

First look inside…ooh, my eye is drawn not to the coloring page on top, but to the Funko Pop it’s concealing…

1c

YES, I got the one I wanted! I was chanting in my head, ‘Belle in her ballgown, Belle in her ballgown’ and it worked! \o/

2

Okay, this is kind of creeping me out, honestly, lol. I’m probably not going to color this in!

2b

Info card is provided with a list of the contents and where they were sourced from.

3

Spring Court tea from Wick and Fable ($10.99 AUD): sigh, tea. I’m not a tea-drinker at all, despite all the various subscription boxes trying to convert me. This will go into my giveaway stash for someone else to enjoy!

4

I like the presentation of this item – the old-fashioned font looks cool and it’s sealed by a very professional-looking logo sticker.

4a

Tale As Old As Time eyeshadow by Printcess ($1.00 USD)

4b

I don’t wear make-up, but at least this is just a sample, so it’s not like there’s a huge-value item that is wasted on me. This shop may be an exciting discovery for those who do purchase make-up and are on the look-out for vegan-friendly products with a focus on ‘high-quality, low-allergen makeup at an affordable price‘.

5

Beastly candle by Kool & Co ($10.00 AUD): um, this scent is DIVINE. Not very ‘beastly’, lol, but I love the delicious fruity fragrance! And red is one of my favorite colors, so I’m all over this. ❤

5a5c

The teensy text on the front explains that: “This candle scent was more so inspired by the concept of ‘no matter what a person looks like, it’s what’s on the inside that counts’. Therefore we made it a deep red to represent a color of the heart and also love”. That…explains why it’s red, but doesn’t really clarify the scent, lol.

6

Funko! Pop VinylBeauty & The Beast: Belle ($19.99 USD or $18.99 AUD): um, wow, I can’t believe the US price is so high for this pop, it’s actually more than it costs here in Australia! That’s bizarre, as this isn’t an exclusive, so I’m puzzled by that.

6a

The back shows the entire range of pops that have been released to tie in with the live-action movie – Book Boyfriend box sent out three variations: Belle in her yellow gown, Belle in the ‘celebration’ dress (I really dislike that one, it looks like her entrails have spilled onto the dress…) and the Beast. I wouldn’t have minded getting the Beast, but I’m so happy with my Belle!

6g

LOOK AT HOW PRETTY SHE IS.

6d

And now I’m going to show her off from every angle because I adore all the details put into this figure. ❤

6e6f

Cute little ruffles on the back of her dress! The gold embroidery! The crown in her hair! Such a great addition to my collection. 😀

7

Hunted by Meagan Spooner ($22.60 AUD)

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

7b

The book was pretty obvious from the ‘Beauty & The Beast’ theme – I’ve actually had this on my TBR for ages, and I love it when a subscription box picks a book that I’m eyeing! Makes it much easier to justify subscribing, hehe.

8

A letter from the author is included.

Now, there was meant to be one more item – a bookmark from Fictional Fox, however, that wasn’t packed in my box, which is unfortunate. At least it’s only a small-value item, but still a bit sad to miss out! 😦 ETA. I contacted Book Boyfriend Box to see if they may have any spare bookmarks that they could include in my June box, and Bailey kindly organized to put it in the mail to me straight away, so that’s lovely! I’m very happy with the customer service. 🙂

9

Hint for the June box – pretty sure I know what the book is! I love speculating about the books that will be included in various boxes and I’ve been right every time so far, mwahaha. (what a useful superpower)

VERDICT

Quality of Curation: solid A for this box – very cohesive set of items that matched the theme perfectly: the book is a retelling of ‘Beauty & The Beast’, the pop was from the newest B&tB Funko line, the eye-shadow and candle were inspired by B&tB, plus the tea was inspired by another retelling of that fairytale (A Court of Mist And Fury). Also the bookmark, which wasn’t in my box, was inspired by Cruel Beauty, yet ANOTHER of the endless retellings of B&tB, so that also tied in quite well.

Worth It? This box would be great for Americans – it would cost $40.98 USD at most and the value is $53 USD, not including the bookmark.

However, it cost me $72.10 AUD and the value is $62.60 AUD, so I lost out because the shipping and exchange rate aren’t very favorable for me, plus I wasn’t a fan of the tea, so while I liked the box, it wasn’t really value for money, unfortunately. My first box (which I have yet to review, eep, will get onto that soon-ish!) was great – it cost $72.10 AUD and the value was roughly $73 – $74 AUD, plus I liked everything in it, which is why I kept my subscription, but my second box hasn’t proven as worthwhile, alas!

Personal Rating: 3 of 5 kitties approve this box. This is purely a subjective opinion based on my circumstances, what with international shipping and the Australian dollar being ridiculously weak – I still think Book Boyfriend Box is great overall, but this month’s just didn’t do it for me.

3cats

Find Out More: You can find Book Boyfriend Box on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Disclaimer: I purchased this box, and this review is based on my personal opinion. No compensation was received

6 thoughts on “Book Boyfriend Box – April 2017: Beauty & The Beast

    • It was really lovely, just a tad too expensive for me, alas! But I end up buying a lot of US boxes because the Australian ones end up being expensive and with fewer items, lol – they source a lot of items from overseas hence the costs of local boxes being pretty steep, so I take my chances with international ones and hope I get lucky. Just didn’t pay off this time, but oh well!

      Thanks for commenting! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve never heard of Belle being that expensive…most of our pops are $9.99 (USD) unless they’re really special, and then they can be $14.99 or so…but they are usually on sale A LOT. So I would be surprised if someone paid $20 for her…you can get so many of them on Amazon or Hot Topic for an EXCELLENT price! I see them at Barnes and Noble all the time on sale and I want to own them all!
    Great unboxing! I love it every time. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was super bizarre, I had to make sure I was on the US version of amazon when I saw that price, but that’s indeed correct! I’m sure you could find it for half the price on ebay, though, but those listings expire all the time, so when I write up these posts, I try not to refer to ebay and use the original supplier instead. (I did look up Hot Topic, but they didn’t have this version of Belle – they did have some gorgeous new Disney dresses, so I’mma go spend a ton of money there now, haha)

      I was really happy to get this lovely Belle pop because I would never have bought her – I already have Peasant Belle and Ballgown Belle (plus Beast and Beast with the birds) so I couldn’t justify spending more money on B&tB pops…this worked out well for me! 😀

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I understand the Pop love…I went to Target with my mom to look for gifts for my nephew bc we were having his 4th bday party…but all they had were Star Wars or Guardians of the Galaxy…I find that I find better ones at Barnes and Noble or Online (i.e. Amazon or Hot Topic). They have the cute ones!

        Like

  2. This looks like such a pretty box. I could never justify paying that much though (I’d also have to pay the international shipping). Like you, I wouldn’t drink the tea and so I think, personally, it would be a bit of a waste of money. I’ve heard Hunted is a pretty good book, and it sounds interesting, so hopefully that makes up for it (even if it’s in nearly every subscription box while Beauty and the Beast is out).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

