Geek {Chic} Monthly – November 2016: Harry Potter Box Review & Giveaway!

Geek {Chic} Monthly provides you with 4 – 5 fandom-inspired merchandise, all matching the month’s chosen fandom/theme. In addition to jewelry, you may also receive other goodies such as decals, stickers, coin purses, tea tins and cord organizers.

1

Geek {Chic} Monthly
Cost: $15.00 USD per month.
Shipping Costs: $3.00 to the US / $10.00 to Canada / $15.00 to the rest of the world.
Payment Method: Credit Card.
Mailed Out: by the 15th of each month.
**Note: this subscription auto-renews and you are billed on the 15th of each month**

There were delays last month, so my box was shipped on November 28th and arrived December 9th. November’s theme is obviously Harry Potter, I love the design on the box with the Hogwarts Houses!

1a

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

2b

There is a themed contents card included each month that outlines the items in the box.

2a

The reverse always features artwork based on the theme – this is a lovely moody look at the Hogwarts castle under Dementor patrol. I like sticking up these cards at my desk at work, I have a few from this box on display at the moment. 🙂

20161209_171025

Something a little different this month – the items were wrapped in a letter from Hogwarts. 😉

3b.jpg

Snitch Soap from Bamber Botanicals: that is a clever bit of packaging, putting the Snitch wings on the plastic. But looking at the Etsy shop this is from, I do wish the actual soap itself had been designed to look like the Snitch, as there are some intricately designed soaps sold by the same person. Still, I appreciate the inclusion of a useful non-accessory item, following on from the candle in last month’s box, so this is neat.

4b

Lightning Bolt Earrings (on Estsy for £2.50 or $4.22 AUD): The cardboard backing that the earrings are sent on had these odd dust marks on them – not sure why, and it does take away from the presentation, but the earrings themselves are in pristine condition.

5

Wrap Style Bracelet: (on Estsy for £4 or $6.75 AUD; also on Aliexpress for about $1 USD). This is a lovely bracelet, and one I like a lot, especially as I already have a similar version! It’s very cute with the owl, Snitch and Deathly Hallows charms. ❤

5b

Closer look at the details on this bracelet – I think the leather braiding is a cool touch!

6

Charm Necklace (on ebay for $9.49 USD or $12.74 AUD; also on etsy for £20.40 or $34.44). This is definitely the hero item of the box! I haven’t seen a necklace like this before that’s so laden with charms!

6a

There’s tons of gorgeous details here, so much to look at!

6b

I might be wrong, but I believe these are from left to right: the Mirror of Erised, Hufflepuff’s Cup, Slytherin’s Locket, a Snitch and the Sorting Hat. That last makes me snicker, look at the grumpy look on the Hat’s face!

6c

These are the Deathly Hallows, a lightning bolt, Ravenclaw’s Diadem, a reference to Snape’s devotion to Lily, a Death Eater tattoo and Tom Riddle’s Diary (after it’s been stabbed with Gryffindor’s Sword, given its condition).

all

This is a great box for Americans, it’s good value for money and you receive a range of gorgeous accessories and other cool items to thrill your fannish heart.

Find Out More: You can view sneak peaks, spoilers and more from Geek {Chic} Monthly on Facebook and Instagram.

I purchased this box, and this review is based on my personal opinion. No compensation was received.

INSTAGRAM GIVEAWAY

Ever since I reached the 1000+ follower milestone on instagram, I’ve been thinking about doing a giveaway. I actually have another bigger one planned, but haven’t sorted out all the details yet, so this will be my first!

I’ve greatly enjoyed my subscription to Geek {Chic} Monthly, but have regretfully had to cancel as it’s too expensive for Australians. This box was lovely, but I either have similar jewelry already or it doesn’t suit my personal style, so it makes for the perfect giveaway! One lucky follower will receive all the items pictured above. 😀

How To Enter

  • Must be i) following me on Instagram (@borgprincess), ii) like the giveaway post here and iii) tag 2 friends in the comments
  • OPTIONAL: For a bonus entry, tag another 2 friends on instagram in a separate comment
  • OPTIONAL: For 2 bonus entries, repost the giveaway photo on instagram with the hashtag #borgprincessHP (reposting more than once will not gain you more entries and please do not tag me in the photo, although you can mention me in the caption)
  • OPTIONAL: For 2 bonus entries, follow my wordpress blog and comment on the instagram post with your corresponding blog account so I can credit you with the entries!

Details

  • This is an international giveaway
  • Giveaway accounts will be disqualified
  • Please do not follow to unfollow – this will disqualify you from future giveaways
  • Must be over 18 or have parental permission to disclose your postal address
  • This giveaway is not affiliated with Instagram or any other entity
  • Closing date is December 25th at 11:59pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time
  • The winner will be chosen at random and have 48 hours from the time I message them (via DM on instagram) to respond, otherwise another winner will be selected

Good luck! 😉

One thought on “Geek {Chic} Monthly – November 2016: Harry Potter Box Review & Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

