Fairyloot – September 2016: Magic & Mayhem

Fairyloot is a book subscription box that offers you a newly released fantasy Young Adult novel along with 4 – 5 bookish goodies matching a different theme each month.

all.jpg

Fairyloot
Cost: £26 monthly.
Shipping Costs£4.30 for the UK or £10.85 for international. (more details here)
Mailed Out: between the 15th – 20th  of each month.
Payment Method: Credit & Debit Cards and Paypal.
**Note:  you can either purchase a single box or you have a choice of a monthly, 3-monthly or 6-monthly auto-renewing subscription**

1.jpg

I received an email confirmation when my box was shipped on Tuesday September 20th and it arrived the following Wednesday, September 28th.

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

20161010_085330

An info card is provided that outlines the contents of the box and the creators of each item.

20161010_085319

I do rather like the art that’s on the reverse side, it’s worth displaying because Fairyloot always chooses lovely creative designs to represent their themes.

4

Felix Felicis sticker designed by bookotter: I never have much use for stickers or decals, I don’t like sticking them on laptops or anything, it’s too permanent for me, lol. I can’t handle that commitment, what if I change fandoms or like something better later!

5

‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ themed buttons also designed by bookotter: lol, I’m starting to hate buttons, I’ve gotten them in three boxes in one week! What does everyone DO with these?!

6a

‘Six of Crows’ & ‘Crooked Kingdom’ themed postcards: the design of these is pretty cool, very moody and atmospheric! I just don’t know anyone I’d ever send these to…it’s a nice bonus for fans of the series who would adore any merch for it, but it’s not something I’m really keen on.

7

‘Second Army’ poster inspired by The Grisha Trilogy designed by GoodNightKittens (value $10.88 AUD or approx £6.72).

20161010_085214

Grisha notebook by Literary Emporium (£4 based on similar items): Well, dark and morbid seems to the be the theme of the day, that is some badass imagery there! I like the design on the notebook, but I won’t be using this since I avoid handwriting as much as possible. I type everything these days, so my writing is atrocious and illegible even to me.

9

Russian Doll necklace from Pastel Clouds (£4.99 based on similar items). The presentation is so sweet, I love the little cloud charm on the shop advertisement!

9bc.jpg

The teeny babushka is cute with that cunning little smirk, hehe.

20161010_084653.jpg

Candle from Castle of Fables – subscribers received one of three possible candles, all representing a different Grisha order. The candles varied between Materialki (with a banana nut bread scent), Ethrealki (crème brûlée) or Corporalki (strawberries and cream).

10b

My candle was Materialki and while I didn’t immediately pick the banana nut bread scent, it was delicious regardless! I love the rich purple hues of this candle, it just looks luscious. ❤

20161010_085120

Bookmark designed by behindthepages (value $3.50 AUD or approx £2.16): this gives away the book featured in this box! It’s pretty neat having a matching book and bookmark. 🙂

20161010_085142

Such a gorgeous bookmark, I love the beautiful imagery and the colors! My only issue is that it’s a bit sticky, so I’m going to need to blot it carefully to make sure it doesn’t end up tearing my book if it sticks to it. D:

20161010_084902

A book plate designed and signed by the author: very creative, I love how the swan is so elegant on first glance, and then super creepy once you spot the skeletal hand…

20161010_085347

A letter from the author to the Fairyloot subscribers: I have to say that this writing is so loopy and fancy that I cannot actually decipher it for the life of me, I just get a headache when I try to read it, lol.

12

A new feature from this month onwards is that the book comes in this little bag! That’s so handy as it protects the book from any mishaps during transit and can be reused by those who like to pack their book in their handbag to stave off potential boredom while out and about.

And now for the book itself!

20161010_084812

Vassa In The Night by Sarah Porter (value $17.23 AUD or approx £10.65)

In Vassa’s neighbourhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission. But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighbourhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair. Inspired by the Russian folktale “Vassilissa the Beautiful” and Sarah Porter’s years of experience teaching creative writing to New York City students, Vassa in the Night weaves a dark yet hopeful tale about a young girl’s search for home, love, and belonging.

VERDICT

Worth It?  From the values I could source, the contents were worth £29.60 or $47.90 AUD. This doesn’t include the sticker, buttons and postcards, nor the Grisha-inspired candle, which is one of the hero items, and I’d estimate worth around $12 – $15? I paid $66.27 AUD, so with the candle and extras, I’d say the value of the box ended up being about equivalent to its cost. And I know some people adore extras like a signed book plate and letter from the author, so these inclusions would’ve added much more value.

Quality of Curation: Not that great for me personally, I’m afraid, I just didn’t love September’s box as much as I did the July box. It’s hard to beat a month that comes with two books, obviously, but in terms of the bookish goodies, I felt that this one had a lot of paper goods which didn’t appeal to me. :/ The Pirates & Power box had fun and practical items like the bath bomb, lip balm and tote bag PLUS the mini-Funko pop! Best box ever, basically! So I had high expectations for September, and it didn’t measure up for me, unfortunately.

Personal Verdict: 3 of 5 kitties approve this box.

3cats

Find Out More: You can find Fairyloot on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Fairyloot – September 2016: Magic & Mayhem

  1. The necklace is adorable!

    I also like the sticker and notebook. However many of those items (even the sticker & notebook) I wouldn’t put the value of as high, so its one reason I’m wary of so many sub boxes..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally agreed. Retail value is one thing, but the ACTUAL value, as in, would I pay that much for it…yeah, that rarely matches up, lol. I enjoy subscription boxes, but sometimes it’s hit-and-miss, and this month was a miss for me. :/

      Like

  2. Pingback: Fairyloot – December: Sci-Fi Adventure! | dreamingofcats

Leave a Reply

