Kal-Elle Fandom Monthly Subscription Box – May 2016

Kal-Elle Fandom Monthly provides you with 4 – 7 fandom-inspired designs worth over $40, all matching the month’s chosen fandom. In addition to jewelry, you may also receive other items such as magnets, artwork, lanyards, hair accessories, etc.

16a

Kal-Elle Fandom Monthly
Cost: $19.00 USD
Shipping Costs: $3.50 shipping within the US or worldwide for $13.50 ($5 cheaper now!)
Payment Method: Credit Card.
Mailed Out: Towards the end of the month.
Note: subscriptions auto-renew on the 1st of each month.

1.jpg

My box was a little banged up and soaked this month, but all the items inside were safe and dry! This was shipped on the 24th of May and arrived on June 7th, so while I’m a couple weeks late, technically this May box is a June box for me…

2

The first look inside always reveals a pretty art print that shows the theme of the month – for May, it’s obviously Doctor Who!

3

Everything else is neatly wrapped up in this bright pink paper for extra mystery… :O

OVERVIEW OF CONTENTS

5

This month’s loot – the jewelry is securely wrapped in plastic and then tucked into a pouch to make sure it arrives safely.

7

The contents card is printed on a background featuring the monthly theme in the form of the TARDIS.

6

A closer look at the 4 x 6 Art Print – the style is really cool and I love the vibrant splash of color! I’ve got a collection of art from my various boxes at my work desk now, hehe.

8

A decal – I get a lot of these in boxes and I’ve never used any of them… :/ I’m too indecisive to stick something down permanently on my computer or fridge when I might want to change it later!

9b

Magnet designed by Kal-Elle: this is awesome, I love that it features all the Doctors! Let’s not fight over who’s the best and just celebrate all of them ❤ It’s always fantastic getting magnets, I’ve covered the top half of my fridge in them and working on covering the bottom now. 😀

10

Watch: um, how gorgeous is this! I’ve fallen out of the habit of wearing watches now that I’m surgically attached to my phone, hehe, but this is so cool, I’ve worn it to work a few times and gotten compliments on it. 🙂

x.jpg

Closer look at the watch face – I don’t think this is that effective at telling the time, lol, you’re sorta guessing the time without numbers, buuuut I don’t care, I’m wearing this for the geek factor! I love the design and the rich deep blue band. which is just stunning.

11

A couple of pins. I don’t know what everyone else does with their pins – mine join the decals in collecting dust at the back of my cupboard. I just don’t like pinning things onto my clothing and putting holes in them… >_< When I was younger, I used to pin them onto my school bag, but my current handbag is too tough to pierce, unfortunately, it’d snap these pins in a second!

12

The pouch with the jewelry – this changes color monthly depending on the theme. With my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle box, it was green, and now it’s blue to match Doctor Who.

12f2

Here’s the first couple items inside.

12d

The pair of earrings have a gorgeous galaxy design, it’s so dreamy! I haven’t been wearing earrings much for over a decade, but now that I’m getting jewelry subscription boxes, I’ve gotten a couple pairs that I just have to wear. Getting these ones in was a bit painful, I had to basically rip the holes open, omg. D:

But I persisted! My ears were throbbing in pain for the rest of the afternoon, but I looked great…FASHION IS PAIN, OKAY.

12a

Groot’s decided he’s guarding this pair of galaxies…

13

A silver bracelet. With the TMNT box, three jewelry items all had identical designs – I know some subscribers liked that they could accessorize with matching pieces, but I prefer unique designs for each, so I’m happy with this.

I did see someone on Instagram cleverly combined this charm with the necklace, which looks really cool. I prefer necklaces to bracelets, so I might rip off her idea…

13a

Kitty feels pretty today!

14

Here’s the final piece of jewelry, a sonic screwdriver necklace. It’s not really obvious what it is, unless you’re also a Doctor Who fan. I don’t usually mind obscure fandom references, but that’s with pieces that make sense in and of themselves, if that makes sense? Like, if you see a pizza charm, you may not immediately associate it with TMNT, but you recognize that it’s pizza. Whereas the mundane folks will look at this and be like, ‘WTF?’ O.o

Like I said, it doesn’t bother me much, I’ve worn this necklace a few times, but now that I’ve seen the Insta pic, I definitely will have to combine the charms just to make it extra geeky.

14b

Such a trendsetter in feline fashion!

VERDICT

Quality of Curation: Kal-Elle is in the higher-priced range of geeky jewelry subscription boxes, but you do get a box stuffed with lots of exciting goodies. Each month, there’s a necklace, bracelet and pair of earrings, as well as the obligatory art print, then the remainder of items vary between a range of accessories and collectibles. I do like the inclusion of several other fandom-themed items in this box and the pleasant anticipation of wondering what might be chosen each time. Kal-Elle caters to a variety of interests by changing it up this way and keeping it fresh and new each month.

Worth It? Obviously this is much better value for US or UK subscribers, but while this cost me $50.93 AUD, I’m quite happy with this box overall and think I got a decent return on my investment. There were a couple items that didn’t appeal to me personally, but they were the lower-value ‘filler’ items, so it didn’t detract much from my enjoyment. All the jewelry items were great, and I’m really glad they had separate distinct designs this month!

I haven’t given values for any items as it can vary wildly, for instance, the sonic screwdriver necklaces appear identical in the following two listings, but one is priced $5.59 and the other $28 AUD! For these kinds of boxes, you need to decide if it’s worth it to you personally, and this month’s Doctor Who box was great for me. 😀

Personal Rating: 4 out of 5 kitties approve this box!

4cats2

Find Out More: You can find Kal-elle Fandom Monthly on Facebook and Instagram.

Next month’s theme is Harley Quinn & Suicide Squad themed! I’m super excited for this one – I’d decided to cancel my subscription because this is the more expensive of my subscriptions, but between the amazing theme and slightly discounted international shipping (down from $18.50 to $13.50), I’m back on board. 😀

2 thoughts on “Kal-Elle Fandom Monthly Subscription Box – May 2016

    • They’re so sparkly and beautiful! Worth every second of agony I suffered getting them through my ear-holes, lol! I have to admit I preen in front of the mirror when I’m wearing them…

      Like

Leave a Reply

