Fandom Collections – Harry Potter set

Fandom Collections was such a nifty site that when I stumbled across it, I instantly purchased their Harry Potter collection of themed jewelry. I’ve only since realized when searching on ebay that the individual items could be purchased at a much lower cost than the $15 they charged for the three pieces.

I’m a little amused at the audacity of their claim that the watch ‘cannot be bought anywhere else’ – that may indeed be true, however, they simply took the Harry Potter braided bracelet that can be purchased for less than $2 from China with free shipping and added a watch face, while unthreading the Deathly Hallows charm which was then strung on a necklace as a brand new piece for the set. Quite astute business thinking, if not a little deceptive. Lesson learned, I will not ever buy on impulse again without doing the research first!

20160302_132646

A few bonus items included, as explained below.

Verdict: in the end, I will say that I’m happy with the pieces – I’m very fond of my watch/bracelet, and the necklaces look fetching. However, their customer service leaves a lot to be desired – there was no communication for weeks after I paid for my purchase, and I received no reply when I contacted them to find out when I could expect its arrival.

After 24 days, I finally received the following email with an explanation/apology:

We apologise for the huge delays in the processing of your order. We are a tiny business run by two students who have just started college again for the year. We were also in the process of try to do a stock take and find a new supplier. Explanation aside, we have included a free item as an apology for your wait. Thank you very much for your patience – we are extremely grateful.

The extra item was the Maze Runner necklace, which ironically ended up being the most costly of the items at $9.95. The Time-Turner necklace can be found for $1-2, and the bracelet from which the watch and Deathly Hallows necklace were made are less than $2 as mentioned above. I searched ebay for ‘vintage watch face’ and what do you know, the exact watch on the bracelet was the first entry to pop up at $2.89. Thank goodness for the inclusion of the extra necklace, otherwise I would’ve been fairly annoyed with myself – as it is, at least the value of the items matches what I paid.

And I had fun amusing myself at work by trying to take some interesting photos of the jewelry on the nearest available props:

20160302_151954

Fierce kitteh looks fierce.

20160302_151549

‘When will this indignity end,’ wonders my long-suffering owl.

20160303_121801

Just my boring wrist; couldn’t find a prop suitable to jazz this up.

I’ll leave you with a very apt phrase to summarize this post: caveat emptor.

Leave a Reply

